On Tuesday 26th November the second round of the qualifying heats of the Wakefield Schools and Sixth Form Debating Competition were held in our Wakefield office.

The first debate saw Harry Wilby and Alexander Woolhouse of Queen Elizabeth Grammer School proposing ‘This house believes Edward Snowden is a hero of free speech’, Jessica Bostock and Zoe Allen of Wakefield College opposed.

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Team One


Wakefield College Team Two

The second debate saw Wakefield Girls High School’s Summer Abbasi and Jennifer Selim proposing  ‘This house would make immunisation compulsory’, opposed by David Wills and Hassan Mohammed of Queen Elizabeth Grammar School.

Wakefield Girls High School


Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Team Two

The third debate saw Oliver Sailisbury and Robert Billing of Ossett Sixth Form Academy proposing ‘This house would not allow state funding for religious schools’, while Joe Blythe and Alex Byram of Queen Elizabeth Grammar School were opposing.

Ossett Academy Team One

Quen Elizabeth Grammar School Team Three

After much deliberation by the judges Kevin Rowswell, North East Regional Development Officer from the English Speaking Union, announced that all three Queen Elizabeth Grammer School teams would progress and join Ossett Sixth Form Academy and Silcoates School in the semi-final. Due to ten teams in total participating Ackworth School, the runner up team with the highest score, will also go through.

We would like to thank all the students who entered, everyone who came along to show their support and judge Kevin Roswsell who came from Manchester to support our debates and will also be attending our semi final and final set to take place early next year.

Chair Cathy Cook said “We are extremely pleased with the standard of debating this year and how much effort the students and teachers put in. The semi final and final are looking set to be hard fought debates!”

For more information please contact Cathy Cook at the Wakefield office on 01924 387110.

Picture below from left to right; Debbie Mactaggart, Cathy Cook, ESU judge Kevin Rowswell, (back) David Kirkman, Susan Lewis, Hugh Skillington and Sukhbeer Shergill.


Related Blog Articles