On Wednesday 12th November the first round of the qualifying heats of the 4th annual Wakefield Schools and Sixth Form Debating Competition were held in our Wakefield office.

The debate saw Ossett Sixth Form Academy team 1 proposing and Ackworth School opposing the motion ‘This house believes Russell Brand is a revolutionary and not a self publicist’.

Ossett: Louis Williams and Jamie Gillings

Ackworth: Mollie Watson and Bethany Pawson

As the debates are based on points the results will be announced after the three debates held on Tuesday 18th November.

We would like to thank all the students who entered and everyone who came along to show their support.

Chair Debbie Mactaggart said “We are already looking forward to hosting the  second qualifying round of debates when teams from Wakefield Girls High School, Ossett Sixth Form Academy, Queen Elizabeth Grammar School and Silcoates will be debating”.

Members of the public are welcome to attend. For more information please contact Debbie Mactaggart at the Wakefield office on 01924 387110.

Related Blog Articles